Something’s Brewing…

22 Jan

I have these characters in my head. They have names and backgrounds and lives; they’re fleshed out and almost real. I get excited during times like these–I make lists and imagine these fictional people telling their interesting and intriguing tales inside my head. And when they’re inside my head, it’s grand. Nothing bad ever happens. The story is formed and the plotline works and all is well. Until tradition wins and I remind myself that all the above has to come out in story form. Unfortunately, this is when my creative brain declares mutiny.

The Meltdown:

Delete everything. I hate this dialogue. I hate that dumb name. Why would so-and-so even say that? Who says that in reality? Where is this story going? Am I crazy? Did I even research that topic? Who am I? Why did I fall in love with writing? Why didn’t I care about science projects and binomials? I could have chosen something else. Why didn’t I? Why did I believe Mrs. Chrytzer?

(A little history: Mrs. Madeline Chrytzer was my amazing 4th grade teacher, the woman who told me that I could write books just like the authors who wrote the books I loved to read. Wonderful woman. Of course, she becomes far less wonderful when I’m engaging in a writing-related nervous breakdown).

Why didn’t she encourage me to keep an eye on my Math homework? Isn’t she the one that put that frowny face next to that horrible grade? Yet she tells me that I can be a writer! Please! Where were her priorities? Where are my priorities? Why can’t I just give myself a chance? Why can’t I be serious about this? Why am I walking away from the laptop toward the refrigerator? Why did I bypass that apple and head for the crueller? What is happening to me?

Sigh. Will this story be written? I cannot say. Whatever happens, though, I think it’s time to find a special doctor that deals with the brain.

2 Responses to “Something’s Brewing…”

  1. Lynn January 22, 2008 at 11:18 pm #

    Oh, I definitely think you should start writing that story. You can’t expect perfection. You have to at least get your ideas down, no matter how crazy you think they may be. I mean, have you seen any movies recently? They’re retarded! I know you could do better than that. Your random thoughts alone are entertaining enough, I can’t imagine what a fictional storyline would actually be like.All in all, my advice is to lower your expectations. Then you won’t be disappointed! 😛 Well, and that should give you more drive to at least start it. But that’s just my two cents.

  2. GirleyGirl January 23, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    You’re so right. It’s all about lowering the expectations and taking it slow, working it out. I think this story is will be coming, I really do. I just need to remind myself to calm down when the madness begins.

Leave a Reply

BJ & FE SCOTT

...LIVING THE BEST LIFE EVER!

My African Hairitage Style (MAHS)

Personal Style, Hair & Lifestyle Blog inspired by Faith, Culture & African Heritage. Visit Shop MAHS

Sincerely, Taj

Dear World, I have stuff to say, so get cozy. Here, I've got cupcakes.

Fully Awake and Alive

A collection of poetry and essays on politics, social justice and the condition of humanity

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

vivaciousverses

When all fails, write a poem. You might succeed in that, so what's there to lose?

ToBNatural

the life of a domesticated naturalista

Dear Husband|Dear Wife|Dear Baby

Little somethings to one another

Traipsing After Jane

The Writing Life of Pamela Aidan

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Globetramp

Conquering the world...one döner kebab at a time

tryingtowriteit

Have you finished that book yet?

The Victoria/Italia Project

Finding My Way Back

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

