It’s Beef, for Sure, but it ain’t Beef Stew.

9 Jul

At present, I have a beef with the current state of music. Anyone who reads this JournaBlog (which means me, and…um, me) knows that my love of music is serious and out of this world. So, when I go through the radio stations while riding in the car, I usually find myself dismayed. Where’s the good music gone? What I’m hearing (before quickly changing the radio station) is weird, profane and largely uninspiring. It’s depressing.

But is there a light at the end of this ridiculous tunnel?

Yes, and this light’s name is Adele. Adele is a 20 year-old Brit singer who has lyrics and melodies that thrill me. I listen to her every day. I wrestle with going against the budget and buying her album on itunes. I scour her website to find out if she’s coming back to this area, being that I missed her when she last came. I watch clips of shows were her songs were played. This young woman is absolutely incredible. The Winehouse comparisons have been made, of course, which is unavoidable, being that they’re from the same country. But to me, besides being countrywomen, the only two things that bind them are songwriting prowess and tunes that will be played over, over, and over again.

In the upper right hand corner will be songs by Adele. Since no one reads this JournaBlog anyway, I’ll listen to ’em.

2 Responses to “It’s Beef, for Sure, but it ain’t Beef Stew.”

  1. Lynn July 21, 2008 at 2:31 pm #

    I had Adele’s MySpace page up for a long time so I didn’t forget her. I love “Chasing Pavements” which was also the first song I heard from her. Then life continued to happen and her page was no longer in my browser and I promptly forgot about her. Thanks for the reminder :)Your comment on music made me think of this catchy, soul song I listened to over and over again for awhile which basically talks about the same thing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nv6KFdW4nXwAhhh so smooth.

  2. GirleyGirl July 22, 2008 at 1:50 pm #

    Thanks for sending the link to Leela James. I forgot how cool that song is–and her voice is amazing. So smooth, like you said. And the message in the song is too true. They should let us take over the radio for one day so we can bring the music back. :)An Adele fan! “Chasing Pavements” is the best. It’s so…I’m just obsessed with her. When she comes to town, we have to see her.

Leave a Reply

BJ & FE SCOTT

...LIVING THE BEST LIFE EVER!

My African Hairitage Style (MAHS)

Personal Style, Hair & Lifestyle Blog inspired by Faith, Culture & African Heritage

Sincerely, Taj

Dear World, I have stuff to say, so get cozy. Here, I've got cupcakes.

Fully Awake and Alive

A collection of poetry and essays on politics, social justice and the condition of humanity

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

vivaciousverses

When all fails, write a poem. You might succeed in that, so what's there to lose?

ToBNatural

the life of a domesticated naturalista

Dear Husband|Dear Wife|Dear Baby

Little somethings to one another

Traipsing After Jane

The Writing Life of Pamela Aidan

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Globetramp

Conquering the world...one döner kebab at a time

tryingtowriteit

Have you finished that book yet?

The Victoria/Italia Project

Finding My Way Back

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

