This Town Don’t Exist…?

6 Aug

It can’t be that hard creating a fictional town, is it? Why am I stressing over a place that doesn’t exist? I am simply placing it on the map and pretending it’s there. Why am I pulling my hair out over a fake location?

Needless to say–I am in the middle of building my novel. Creating the background, the places, the people, the story. It’s fun and crazed all at the same time. Woo hoo!

(The importance of research became quite clear when I took a Fiction Writing workshop during the college days. I wrote a story about a wronged wife who hires a hitman to, you know, get rid of the husband. Total anger issues back then, but onwards. So the first draft was slammed by my fellow writers. Questions abounded–how did she find the hitman? Where did he come from? What are the divorce laws in state they lived in, since I had an entire courtroom/divorce proceedings scene? On and on and on…long story short, my professor suggested that I incorporate research into my routine as a writer. I’ve been googling ever since).

Seriously, why am I stressing over this town?!

Leave a Reply

BJ & FE SCOTT

...LIVING THE BEST LIFE EVER!

My African Hairitage Style (MAHS)

Personal Style, Hair & Lifestyle Blog inspired by Faith, Culture & African Heritage

Sincerely, Taj

Dear World, I have stuff to say, so get cozy. Here, I've got cupcakes.

Fully Awake and Alive

A collection of poetry and essays on politics, social justice and the condition of humanity

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

vivaciousverses

When all fails, write a poem. You might succeed in that, so what's there to lose?

ToBNatural

the life of a domesticated naturalista

Dear Husband|Dear Wife|Dear Baby

Little somethings to one another

Traipsing After Jane

The Writing Life of Pamela Aidan

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Globetramp

Conquering the world...one döner kebab at a time

tryingtowriteit

Have you finished that book yet?

The Victoria/Italia Project

Finding My Way Back

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

