Le premier jour d’Automne!

22 Sep

Yeah, I go all French when I’m happy, apparently. (Which means those pesky French teachers were right? I do secretly love the language? It’s no secret; I could listen to francais all day long. But verb conjugation and root canal share plenty of similarities.) Anyway…

It’s the first day of fall! And it’ll be 90 degrees! The weather, if anything, is consistently inconsistent. Nevertheless, despite it feeling like summer on the first day of fall, it’s official!

Here’s a poem from the canon about autumn. I wrote it a few years ago. One of my personal favorites, which is a stretch, being that I wrote it and can see all the ways it could be improved. But it reminds me, not only of my favorite season, but of someone from my past that likes to pop up in my mind here and there. And the memories are nice.

Here goes:

Autumn Song

This was our favorite time of year.

We waited for it eagerly;

we quietly laughed at those who swallowed the

warm sunshine and the long, hot days,

wanting just a quick blast of crisp, cold air

to silence them.

But our time came soon enough.

We drank the season in until we couldn’t

bear it anymore, which was not usual,

because we always bore it, you and I, traipsing

outside whenever we had the chance.

(which was all the time)

But those days are gone.

The autumn moon is mine and mine alone to

enjoy; you went to a place where

the dreaded summer is a constant, and perhaps

to your liking. Who knows?

For a time, I was set on hating this season because of your

unfair absence, as if blaming nature was a good

way of blaming you.

Not so.

Whatever happened, whatever happens, my chances to

run outside and hear my footsteps reverberating upon

burgundy and brown and golden ground will never

be wasted, not for you or for anyone.

Though this time leaves as quickly as it enters,

unlike my brief time with you,

it means something.

So this is goodbye.

Leave a Reply

BJ & FE SCOTT

...LIVING THE BEST LIFE EVER!

My African Hairitage Style (MAHS)

Personal Style, Hair & Lifestyle Blog inspired by Faith, Culture & African Heritage. Visit Shop MAHS

Sincerely, Taj

Dear World, I have stuff to say, so get cozy. Here, I've got cupcakes.

Fully Awake and Alive

A collection of poetry and essays on politics, social justice and the condition of humanity

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

vivaciousverses

When all fails, write a poem. You might succeed in that, so what's there to lose?

ToBNatural

the life of a domesticated naturalista

Dear Husband|Dear Wife|Dear Baby

Little somethings to one another

Traipsing After Jane

The Writing Life of Pamela Aidan

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Globetramp

Conquering the world...one döner kebab at a time

tryingtowriteit

Have you finished that book yet?

The Victoria/Italia Project

Finding My Way Back

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

