Happy, Happy, Joy…Joy?

6 Dec

I’m a bit struck.

After excitedly informing a good friend of mine that I had completed two brand new short stories (seriously, this is a feat. For quite some time, I’ve accumulated a lot of half-finished work, which, yeah), she asked me if they were “happy stories.” I chuckled and conceded that one had a “happy ending,” which is a loaded term, based on the story’s context. Anyway, later, as I thought about it…

All my stories are downers.

Not even just the stories. The few poems I write are, too.

Logically (yeah, let’s deal with the logic first), I can’t expect myself to come up with stories about sunshine and birds and roses. Why? Because I think most writers work from pathos. (Writing is easy. Just open a vein.) Good times don’t inspire me to take to the pen and work it all out by way of poetry and prose. When life points its heel towards my rear end and I fall to the floor, I write from that pain and confusion and darkness. That’s just the kind of writer I am, and I hate to generalize, but based on the gazillion books and stories I’ve read, I think a lot of writers are that way, as well. And quite honestly, if a story were about sunshine and birds and roses…well, those aren’t the bestsellers, are they? Drama fuels story.

Emotionally (here we go), as I mentioned before, I was certainly struck by her question. Which led to a mental rundown of most of my work, which led me to the conclusion that…her question was quite valid. I should aim for variety in my work, right? Versatility? To not be so easily categorized? Am I depressing my poor readers? Is it all too Debbie Downer and miserable and good God, is this ANOTHER poem about a boy who didn’t love her?

In the end, her question left its mark, for sure.

I don’t imagine a huge turnaround in my work, where sunshine and birds and roses prevail. To me, when my fiction people are able to understand and figure out and kind of rise above whatever muck I’ve put them through–there’s the happy ending. It’s relative.

However, on variety–we’ll see…

We’ll just see.

4 Responses to “Happy, Happy, Joy…Joy?”

  1. Randi December 10, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    Well, they say that you should write what what you know, so I'm hoping that what you know in all of your years on this planet is sad stuff.When I was younger I only wrote about love (ironically, I know nothing about love, really). Now I'm trying to figure out how to write the next Harry Potter book, regardless of what I know. LOL.

  2. Randi December 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    I meant, is not sad stuff. Write about the time you had a crush on Ronny Sharpes in the 7th grade! Ha ha.

  3. GirleyGirl December 17, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    Similar to what you said, I write about what fascinates me, regardless of what I know. My life and my experiences may be a theme or woven into the stories here and there, but I try not to focus on that too much. I let the story dictate itself to me.Yikes, Sharpes. Haven't heard that name in a gazillion years.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Storytime! | kitten heel marvel - December 22, 2011

    […] response to where the crush went–absolutely nowhere–I wrote a story. It was my way of catharsis, as I like to […]

Leave a Reply

BJ & FE SCOTT

...LIVING THE BEST LIFE EVER!

My African Hairitage Style (MAHS)

Personal Style, Hair & Lifestyle Blog inspired by Faith, Culture & African Heritage

Sincerely, Taj

Dear World, I have stuff to say, so get cozy. Here, I've got cupcakes.

Fully Awake and Alive

A collection of poetry and essays on politics, social justice and the condition of humanity

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

vivaciousverses

When all fails, write a poem. You might succeed in that, so what's there to lose?

ToBNatural

the life of a domesticated naturalista

Dear Husband|Dear Wife|Dear Baby

Little somethings to one another

Traipsing After Jane

The Writing Life of Pamela Aidan

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Globetramp

Conquering the world...one döner kebab at a time

tryingtowriteit

Have you finished that book yet?

The Victoria/Italia Project

Finding My Way Back

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

