Reflections of the Weekend that Used to Be.

14 Feb

This past weekend was interesting.

A dream is an answer to a question we haven’t learned how to ask. I had a pretty vivid dream during the weekend. Other than the fact that reading all these mysteries is clearly having an impact on the old subconscious—I was solving a crime with a ragtag group of amateur investigators—the dream was intriguing for another reason. At one point, a dream character (i.e., no one I know in real life) turns to me and says, “You need to move to Los Angeles.” So…yeah. Curious, being that my initial desire, before the desire to move to Europe manifested itself, was to head to the West Coast and settle down there. I was actually looking for jobs, readying my resume, the whole process. I recognize that it was only a dream, but…have I learned to ask myself whether the West Coast is the viable choice? Viable in comparision to Europe, which is far less about practicality and wanting to satisfy my Europhile wishes? Was the question cushioned somewhere in the back of my mind, waiting to be answered in a dream? Heavy questions for a dream that was largely about solving a crime in the Hollywood Hills. Nevertheless, very, very interesting…

 

 

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music. I’ve long discussed my passionate love of music on this forum. This quote takes all my exclamations and feelings and oohing and aahing and pontificating and wraps it up in one startling, amazing sentence. Not much else needs to be said. As far as the weekend is concerned, other than crazy dreams, I overdosed musically. Downloading songs, getting lost in them, allowing music to push my days forward. For the record, I’d just like to say that Sara Bareilles’  album, Kaleidoscope Heart, may be one of the more touching, honest, heartbreaking, and intelligent records I’ve heard in a long time. It would be nice to see artists like Sara drowning in media love, instead of artists like the Bieber. Just saying.

The short end of my interesting weekend. Onwards with this Manic Monday…

4 Responses to “Reflections of the Weekend that Used to Be.”

  1. Linda February 16, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    At least you go to gym. It’s hard to go after work when you’ve been dealing with the crazy all day, but it’s great that you go at all.

    • lonelypassport February 16, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

      Thanks. It’s not that easy–see comments on couch, ice cream, couch, and then ice cream–but worth it in the end. Even if I’ve started hobbling around like one of the Golden Girls. Which is not entirely a bad thing…

  2. Linda February 16, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    You know, I have also had dreams of living in California. Do it!!! Why not. You are genetically a traveler, a “wandering man (woman)”. I support you in this.

Leave a Reply

BJ & FE SCOTT

...LIVING THE BEST LIFE EVER!

My African Hairitage Style (MAHS)

Personal Style, Hair & Lifestyle Blog inspired by Faith, Culture & African Heritage

Sincerely, Taj

Dear World, I have stuff to say, so get cozy. Here, I've got cupcakes.

Fully Awake and Alive

A collection of poetry and essays on politics, social justice and the condition of humanity

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

vivaciousverses

When all fails, write a poem. You might succeed in that, so what's there to lose?

ToBNatural

the life of a domesticated naturalista

Dear Husband|Dear Wife|Dear Baby

Little somethings to one another

Traipsing After Jane

The Writing Life of Pamela Aidan

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Globetramp

Conquering the world...one döner kebab at a time

tryingtowriteit

Have you finished that book yet?

The Victoria/Italia Project

Finding My Way Back

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

