Day Two.

2 Apr

in like and in like and in like

I am in like with you.

As in sitting behind you in 8thgrade history and I want to touch the back of your head because it looks so soft and you kind of looked at me in gym class and my stomach tumbled over and over again and me and Mandy are passing notes about you because you are the dreamiest and I can hardly go to sleep without thinking about you and wondering if you’re thinking about me too.

I am in like with you.

As in watching Twelfth Night and deciding that I will be the Viola to your Orsino not the Juliet to your Romeo because they were children and died young and I want us to live forever and I looked at the back of your head in the third row and wished I could read your mind to see if you were thinking the same thing but then the play was over and the field trip was over and how can I sit next to you on the bus?

I am in like with you.

As in walking into the cafeteria and seeing that other girl throw herself all over you and wishing she would just disintegrate into thin air and it would just be you and me and the back of your head and my dress would change into a gown and your jeans into tuxedo pants and you would ask me to dance and why of course I would and we would dance and dance forever but nothing like that happens because it’s Monday and we’re in school and you walk away from her thank God.

Rip off your adult mantle, my love, and re-enter the giddy, hazy days of yesteryear with me, where our hearts were young, and our dreams were young, and the world was our shiny, peerless oyster. Or, if anything, just let me touch the back of your head.

And like me back.

Leave a Reply

BJ & FE SCOTT

...LIVING THE BEST LIFE EVER!

My African Hairitage Style (MAHS)

Personal Style, Hair & Lifestyle Blog inspired by Faith, Culture & African Heritage

Sincerely, Taj

Dear World, I have stuff to say, so get cozy. Here, I've got cupcakes.

Fully Awake and Alive

A collection of poetry and essays on politics, social justice and the condition of humanity

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

vivaciousverses

When all fails, write a poem. You might succeed in that, so what's there to lose?

ToBNatural

the life of a domesticated naturalista

Dear Husband|Dear Wife|Dear Baby

Little somethings to one another

Traipsing After Jane

The Writing Life of Pamela Aidan

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Globetramp

Conquering the world...one döner kebab at a time

tryingtowriteit

Have you finished that book yet?

The Victoria/Italia Project

Finding My Way Back

betweenfearandlove

Learning the importance of self-worth

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

